Wednesday, 26 June 2013

2015 Ikot Abasi Federal Constituency Insists on Zoning

Ahead of the 2015 governorship election in the, the people of Ikot Abasi federal constituency, comprising Ikot Abasi, Eastern Obolo and Mkpat Enin have resolved to leave no stone unturned to ensure that Eket Senatorial District produces the next governor of Akwa Ibom State.
Rising from a major stakeholders meeting last week, the stakeholders resolved to work assiduously with the other two federal constituencies (Eket and Oron) to ensure that Governor Akpabio’s successor come 2015 comes from the district.
As contained in an 8-point communiqué, the political elites, women and youth leaders under the aegis of Ikot Abasi Federal Constituency Forum stressed that since the other two senatorial districts have taken turns of eight years to govern in the state under the current democratic dispensation, it smacks equity, justice and fairplay that the next governor of the state should come from Akwa Ibom South(Eket)senatorial district.
The forum which is led by a former chairman of Ikot Abasi Obong Amaete Ntuk, described Eket Senatorial District as “the proverbial hen that lays the golden egg which provides the bulk of the economic mainstay of the State”, and maintained that “it was therefore totally unacceptable that anyone should seek to deprive the senatorial district from the opportunity of being at the helm of the State and managing the state resources in the capacity of the State Governor in 2015”.
The Ikot Abasi Federal Constituency Forum called on all politically active citizens from the other two senatorial districts to resist any attempt to truncate the orderly completion of the zoning or rotation policy that has brought peace and stability to the state since the advent of democracy in 1999.
The communiqué which also commended the State Governor for his uncommon transformation programme in the state, also lauded the appointment of Lady Valerie Ebe, an indigene of the federal constituency, as the State Deputy Governor.
Others who signed the communiqué include former chairmen of local governments, former House of Assembly members and former commissioners, all from Ikot Abasi federal constituency, including Prince Enobong Ufot, Prince Udo Sam Umotan, Dr Gibson Okworo,Hon Ekong Mex Umo, Obong Uyio Udosen,Hon Loveday Ekoyork, Dr Ibanga Ekwere, Chief Douglass Ekperikpe, Dr Anietie Essien, Hon Matthias Idiong and Obanganwan Edith Ettete.  

No comments:

Post a Comment